There are just too many arseholes in the world

March 1, 2006

It’s something I’ve known for a long time, but it depresses me none the less.  I try to push it to the back of my mind, with the thoughts about cleaning the mould off the bathroom ceiling, the intentions to eat 5+ a day, and the plan to start yoga classes.  It’s the only way to keep on keeping on really – ignore the obvious.

Ignorance is bliss they say and often I think this is right.  If I actually stop to think about the huge number of irritating, stupid, and obstructive people I encounter (and I’m not even counting the kids I teach) I start to gibber.  And gibbering leads to a drooling form of paralysis that means takeaways for dinner.  And breakfast.

How do they do it?  How do they actually survive in our complex world? 

They can’t indicate, they can’t understand basic instructions, they can’t demonstrate common decency or manners, they can’t respect other people, they can’t clear their messages, they can’t reply to emails, they can’t remember to turn the iron off, they can’t look when reversing out of the driveway, they can’t take the laundry out of the washing machine and hang it out, they can’t actually check if something is correct before they start spewing it all over the internet, they can’t recognise that other people are actual human beings that have feelings.  Ok that’s enough for now, you get the picture.

But really, when do we get to the part that’s all about survival of the fittest?  I liked The Selfish Gene* (purple prose about robots excepted) and I need Dawkins’ theory (and Darwin’s of course) to start actually working – surely these people, the ones who can’t think enough to calculate that being an arsehole is a bad thing, surely they must be too stupid to breed?  PLEASE!

 

*  Not the rock band.

Leave a Reply

